Testimonials

A Good Nights Rest - Patricia McIntosh Ft. Myers Beach, Florida July 23, 2017

Magic View
--  Craig Green Prince George, BC  July 19, 2017

Thanks for the prompt pick-up at the ferry terminal.
-- Guest July 2017

Your staff and hotel made this a very, very nice stay and vacation. The rooms are clean and nice with incredible view of the bay!!!  It was wonderfully quiet & peaceful!!!
-- Captain's Choice Motel Guest - June 2017

Peaceful. This hotel is clean, charming and the staff is friendly. The view from our room amazing. Two bald eagles an ocean harbour and mountains. The town is perfect. Wish I could stay forever. 🙂
-- Tamala Millar (Google Reviewer)

Good for stop and go travel.
While traveling through Haines we wanted to stay in a fairly priced motel that offered a continental breakfast and was close to the ferry terminal. The front desk staff was nice and helpful. The location is great because it is close to the ocean while still being close to stores and restaurants, with the ferry not too far away as well. While the room was quite outdated, we were comfortable and slept fairly well. I was rather surprised that the breakfast was only offered from 6-8am and only consisted of juice, coffee, toast, and muffins. I was honestly rather bummed I woke up earlier than I had hoped, only to find such limited options. All in all, we enjoyed our stay for the one night just passing through the town.

Room Tip: Request a room toward the back of the property so as to see the ocean best and to park off the main...
-- Tripadvisor,  August 29, 2016
 

Great view, very nice people. Lovely town too. I left the lights on in my truck (semi), and the locals drove us around to find someone who could jump it. Can't say enough good things about these people.

-- Ben Love (Google Reviewer)

Rental Cars are great

I was sent to Haines for work and was provided a rental car through the Captain's Choice Motel. They picked me up right after my fight into Haines and had me in my rental car (a very nice and clean late model Subaru Forester) within minutes. Very pleasant interaction and I would highly recommend.
-- Tripadvisor, Reviewed September 7, 2016

The view is oh so fine!

I lead a group of seven classic cars and 15 souls from Fairbanks, Alaska. We have stayed here before and were once again treated very well! The facility has some age but is clean and convenient to restaurants, museums, etc. - all within walking distance. The staff were very helpful and friendly. And there was plenty of off-street parking.
-- Tripadvisor, Reviewed July 24, 2016
Clean and drool worthy views right outside the door
So i didn't have extremely high expectations for lodging knowing that I was going to an extremely remote part of Alaska. Though quite outdated inside, I thought this motel was just fine. Everything was clean, the staff was very friendly and the views right outside the door was droolworthy. It's very close to the water and situated well for walks. They also have a continental breakfast that included items one would expect. I would stay here again if I'm lucky enough to ever get back to Haines.

-- Tripadvisor, Reviewed July 14, 2016
Dated, but great
We had a great few nights at this motel. The rooms were comfortable without being luxurious, and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. A limited breakfast (raisin toast/muffins/croissants) was served in the lounge/bar each morning and there was always tea and coffee available. Lovely views across the water to the mountains. A convenient guest laundry on the property was a bonus too. The only downside was the number of stairs one had to negotiate on the property, and the steep hills to get around town.

-- Tripadvisor,  September 9, 2016
Clean, friendly, price, view

I love this hotel, staff friendly, the view is beautiful. price is decent. rooms are clean, lots of hot water. I stay here when in Haines for business and for pleasure. lots to do around town. I've been staying here for at least 12 years.

-- Tripadvisor,  September 16, 2016