Testimonials

"Thank you." - Paul - October 16, 2019, 2019

"Really enjoyable stay, very comfortable, great location, staff very accommodating"- Room 232 - October 14, 2019

"Best motel this side of the border!"- Nielsen's Room 112 - October 13, 2019

"The staff was extremely helpful."- Charles - Hudson, WI - October 13, 2019

"Nice view and bed!."- Aaron & Lexi - October 11, 2019

"The staff went out of their way to accommodate me. Thank you."- L. Arce - October 06, 2019

"Great view of the inlet/bay." - Stephen Overland Park, KS - September 2019

"Loved the mattress! liked all the outlets." - Room 226 - September 2019

"The bed is very comfortable." - Room 224 - September 27, 2019

"Nice extra touches!! Bottle water, Soft towels, Extra comfy bed, Fridge!, Microwave, Continental breakfast, Best view ever! Coffee and Tea always available." - Room 229 - September 23, 2019

"What a nice experience. I was very happy with the service(so friendly) and the room(what a view!)." - Miriam -September 15, 2019

"This is one of the best accommodations we've had for many years all over the world" - Valerie - Moscow, Russia -September 15, 2019

"Good job on the upgrade" - Room 225 -September 15, 2019

Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Room 223 -September 13, 2019

"Amazing lady at the front desk!! Super friendly and very sweet. Very refreshing to meet such a lovely person" - Room 117 -September 12, 2019

"Thank you so much. We love your ambiance. Most important for us was
the pet friendly room! Your place is special, loved your choice of bedding,
bathroom floor. Slippers,night-blinders,earplugs were very thoughtful.
Julie was exceptional, We will be back." - Room 255 -September 11, 2019

"Amazing stay, very nicely located and amazing service." - Room 112 -September 10, 2019

"Can't improve on the view. thoroughly enjoyed our stay" - Alan Melbourne Australia -September 9, 2019

"I specially mention the kindness of your office; very friendly service."- Marlene Goebel,Germany -September 9, 2019

"I love staying at the Captains Choice!" - Room 226 -September 8,2019

"Nice to get our messages. We would stay here again."- Room 232 -September 7,2019

"Thank you Gregg for the stay, I enjoyed it."- Sara Lambeth- September 5, 2019

"Have stayed here on and off for Thirty years and the remodels are great."- Room 225 - September 4, 2019

"Location was the attraction!" Guest rated "excellent" on service, and location. - Room 259 - September 3, 2019

"Nice Room! Nice Bed! Quiet!!" Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms and location. - Room 262 - September 3, 2019

Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Room 229 - August 29th, 2019

"It was fabulous! Staff was exceptionally helpful. Great outlook from 262. Our own private balcony was a real bonus. Will recommend to others. Thank you." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Room 262 - August 29th, 2019

Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Room 114 - August 28th, 2019

"We love the decor." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Tim & Lynn Rawley - August 28th, 2019

"Awesome stay." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Hilary Vance - August 27th, 2019

Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Room 223 - August 23rd, 2019

"We loved the view, room, and everything about your motel." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Room 119 - August 20th, 2019

"We really enjoyed our stay here. Thank you." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Ann & Matt - August 20th, 2019

Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and "good" on value. - Eva Urbankor - August 16th, 2019

"Flowers in front are beautiful." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Room 229 - August 16th, 2019

Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Laura Parellada - August 16th, 2019

"Best view of the sea. Good location." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Carlo Benzi - August 16th, 2019

"All great"- - AUGUST 9th, 2019

"Fantastic view"- - AUGUST 9th, 2019

"View spectacular and chairs to sit in and enjoy the view! Flowers beautiful"- - AUGUST 7th, 2019

"HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Friendly, accommodating staff. Perfect location- beautiful view from desk."- - July 31th, 2019

"Warm friendly, and knowledgeable staff"- - July 30th, 2019

"Thank you and hope to stay here again. God bless captain choice"- - July 29th, 2019

"Breakfast good-boiled eggs excellent"- - July 29th, 2019

"Very Helpful lady at desk"- - July 28th, 2019

"Lovely place and nice room" - - July 28th, 2019

"Enjoyed the room"- - July 28th, 2019

"Impeccable room. Great breakfast. Great view."- - July 27th, 2019

"Beautiful, nice, clean and quiet!!- - July 27th, 2019

"Beautiful location and accommodating staff- - July 26th, 2019

"What I loved most is I felt welcome and at home here. THe bed was comfortable, there were adequate blankets, the room was fresh smelling and clean. I would come back again in a heart beat. The place is older so the walls are thin and floor creak. THe staff has placed signs asking guests to walk gently and I had no issues with it waking me. THe place quieted down...heck it was so peaceful the entire stay- - July 26th, 2019

"Service was top notch! Very clean!" Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, "good" on location, value. - - July 16th, 2019

"Great place to stay. Thanks!" Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, location, and "good" on rooms, and value. - - July 16th, 2019

"Made me a deal I could not say no to." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, location, rooms, and value. - - July, 2019

"Lovely place, nice room." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, and "good" on service, location, rooms, and value. - - July 21st, 2019

"very helpful arranging transportation and giving information regarding Haines." Guest rated "excellent" on service and location, and "good" on cleanliness, rooms, and value. - - July 2019

"Nicole was great" - - Room #256 July 30,2019

"Enjoyed the room." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - - July 2019

"You have a great place." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and "good" on value. - - July 17th, 2019

"Awesome!" Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - - July 15th, 2019

"A beautiful place on the water. Thank you." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - - July 15th, 2019

"Everything was great!!" Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - - July 14th, 2019

"A sure thing in Haines if you are looking for a hotel/motel." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - - Tori Clyde. July, 2019

Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - - Walter Wirth of Switzerland. July, 2019

"Thank you for dog accommodations." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - - July 9th, 2019

"Bed was good!" Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness and "good" on service, rooms, location and value. - - July 9th, 2019

"Excellent stay. Staff was very nice, rooms were clean and comfortable. Excellent view and close to everything." Guest rated "excellent" on cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - Heather Hinkus - July 8th, 2019

"Five star rating." Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - Ron and Judy Trout of Boise, Idaho - July 8th, 2019

"Awesome stay, very accommodating, highly recommend." Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - Peg Rogers of Soldotna, Alaska - July, 2019

"Absolutely love it." Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - Jack and Lindsay - July, 2019

"Thank you. We appreciate the friendly service and smiles." Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - Andy and Amy Linstad of Marinette, Wisconsin - July 4, 2019

"Convenient and scenic location." Excellent cleanliness and rooms, good service, location and value. - Mary of Yukon, Canada - July 4, 2019

"Thank you! Always a wonderful time here." Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - - July 1, 2019

"Great for two nights. Enough space. Amazing view from room. Comfortable beds." Excellent cleanliness and value, good rooms and location, fair service. - - July 1, 2019

"Friendly, helpful staff, sensational views, comfy beds and great breakfast." Excellent cleanliness, service and location, good rooms and value. - - June 30, 2019

"Great staff and was super convenient to downtown." Excellent service and location, good cleanliness, fair rooms and value. - - June 30, 2019

"Beds very comfy. Rooms very clean." Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - Don and Deb - June 30, 2019

"Nice facility- thanks for the stay!" Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - - June 29, 2019

"Everything you need! This place provides everything you could need." Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - Claudia and Eva Berges - June 28, 2019

"Great location. Clean/very nice, comfortable beds." Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location and value. - - June 24, 2019

The view is outstanding. Excellent location, good cleanliness, service, rooms, and value. - - June 22, 2019

Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - - June 21, 2019

Nice, clean, comfortable. Rooms very clean. Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and good value. - - June 18, 2019

Food was nice. Good. Happy. Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and good value. - Andy Steer - June 18, 2019

We will return. Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - - June 15, 2019

Excellent cleanliness, service, location, value, and good rooms. - - June 15, 2019

Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - - June 15, 2019

Appreciate the slippers. Very good idea. Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - - June 15, 2019

Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Excellent cleanliness, service, and location, good rooms and value. - Alan and Heidi Hayden - June 12, 2019

Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Lisa and Bruce Boswell - June 12, 2019

Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - - June 12, 2019

Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - - June 11, 2019

Pet friendly and cleanliness was my #1. Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Bradley Newman - June 10, 2019

We will come back! Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Guelrun Kreuzwirth- June 8, 2019

Excellent beds, great views, clean and comfortable. - Ryan Campbell - June 6, 2019

Loved the blanket in the room. Excellent cleanliness and service, good rooms, location, and value. - June 5, 2019

Thank you for all the "extras"- slippers, earplugs. Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - June 4, 2019

Great office staff. Love the smell of the towels. Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - Lynn Thompson - June 3, 2019

Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - - May 23, 2019

Excellent cleanliness, service, rooms, location, and value. - McIver - May 18, 2019

Outstanding customer service. Great location for access to activities and sights in Haines. Delicious breakfast too! - Gail Packer - May 2019

Very relaxing and welcoming. Stunning views. - - May 23, 2019

Internet service as good or better than motels I recently stayed in. Located near center of town, close to restaurants and bank. - Scott C - May 21, 2019

The friendliest place. So comfortable. Fantastic to stay in the same room as my last stay and see all the fantastic upgrades. - Linda - May 20 2019

Will be returning. - - May 20, 2019

Good housekeeping. - Chelsea Ridge - May 11 2019

We loved our stay. Pet friendly rocks, thank you so much! - - May 2019

Lindy and Julie especially helpful and friendly, like always. - Dave Nichols - May 11, 2019

Good price for a view. Located in walking distance to town and restaurants. Very comfortable beds, cute decor, good temperature control and water pressure. - - May 5, 2019

Fantastic stay! We will be returning. - - May 27, 2019

Thank you. Wonderful view, wonderful people, wonderful everything. - Kitty, - April 19, 2019

Loved your motel -stylish, clean, great view. Thank you. - Room 231,- April 19, 2019

Great place to stay. We would definitely stay here again. - Room 231, North Pole - April 16, 2019

Beautiful view to the bay. Nice staff. - Room 225 - April 4, 2019

Wonderful View; good continental breakfast; welcoming staff. - Room 115 - Mar 18, 2019

This was a wonderful place to stay. Great staff and accommodations. Beautiful view from our window. Close to all things. - Judy- Mar 01, 2019

Very helpful at front desk when making reservations and upon arrival. Bed was wonderful for a bad back!! - Room 223 Feb 05, 2019

Very clean - Nice - Comfortable too. Thank you. - Room 237 Feb 04, 2019

You and staff were awesome! Felt completely at home and welcome. You went over and above to help. You made my stay so easy. True customer service. I will recommend this motel to all. You made it feel like "family". Awesome staff, comfy rooms and beds. Super friendly staff. - Petra Hankinson Feb 03, 2019

Great place to stay with comfortable rooms and a great view. - Room #226 Jan 28, 2019

Thank you! Service & location was wonderful! - Room #112 Jan 23, 2019

Thank you all so very much helping me with my loss. - Fiona Room #225 Jan 07, 2019

This is the cutest little motel! Such a fun first night in our new home state. Will definitely recommend to friends.
- Military move Dec 2018

Thank you very much for the kind gift for my wife's birthday!
- anonymous Dec 2018

Yes you met my high standards.
- Room 116 Dec 28, 2018

Come through Haines once a year en-route to Juneau. I always stay here.
- Room 224 Dec 21, 2018

Love the late check-out. Helps ferry rider. Thank you for an amazing stay.
- Gretchen & Charles Florida Dec 17, 2018

Jayme was really helpful & always happy.
- Drew Olsen Room 234 Dec 10, 2018

Excellent - Cleanliness, Service, Rooms, Location & Value.
- Jeff Bloomington Nov 13, 2018

Thanks for everything. We enjoyed our stay.
- Sara Whitehorse Nov 11 2018 Room 112

Thank you very much for the kind gift for my wife's birthday!
- anonymous Dec 2018

Thank you! Everyone was accommodating
- Maribell & David Alexander Oct 2018

Love the view!
- Judy - Ottawa Canada Room #117 Oct 27, 2018

Clean, comfy, nice staff
- Dolly Larkin Room #224 Oct 26, 2018

Beautiful scenery from our room. Very nice accommodations. Very friendly!
- The Theels - Nenana, AK Room #114 Oct 21,2018

Thank you. All was wonderful. Room clean, service all great. Glad to see the update of the room and you left the character.
- Cathy B - Room #237 Oct 14, 2018

Thank you for a great stay.
- Matheson - Whitehorse Room 112 - Oct 08,2018

Wonderful location, kind & helpful staff.
- England 09/21/2018

Staff could not have been more helpful. Julie was excellent!
- Sharland UK 9/21/18

We arrived at 4:30 am, but thxs to Julie we were able to come inside.
- Briggs Sept 2018

Attractive setting. Everything I needed was there! Immaculate, kind operators, also helpful.
- Dr. Anna Claus 9/18/18

Excellent
- Mou, Germany 9/18/2018

Beautiful veiw from our room 226 of the bay looking at the mountains & townsite
- 9/12/18

Friendly folks. I appreciate the motel's willingness to work with Alaska ferry schedules. Beautiful spot and lovely view
- Lora Wile Homer, AK 9/11

Our ferry was delayed from Bellingham, called motel to advise that we would not arrive until 4:30am. We arrived and Julie had our room ready so we could be comfortable. WONDERFUL SERVICE
- Jini & Robb Lynnwood, WA 9/11/2018

Excellent in all areas
- J.O. Donnughue Kodiak, AK 8/30

Very nice, host very friendly - clean
- 8/25/2018

Spectacular view. friendly service. Comfy clean room RM 121
-

Thanks for being pet friendly! Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean. will definitely stay here again
- Aug 2018

Spectacular views and right in downtown Haines, everything within walking distance
- Suzanne 8/21

Room was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful
- Jennie Gates-Donnelly Dillsburg, PA 8/18

Very scenic view room 225
- 2018

Friendly, helpful staff. Clean rooms, comfy beds, AWESOME location, and a nice free breakfast
- WPG 8/8/18

Had a wonderful time in Haines and if it weren't for the staff we wouldn't have made it!! Thank you!!!
- Jo Earls July 31, 2018

Excellent service! Allowed us to check-in at 10:00 AM. Nice Atmosphere, Great people at desk. - Guest July 31, 2018

The staff is so nice and friendly. I always enjoy coming back every year! I was very happy that the hotel had WiFi. The Captain's Choice is the place to be. Close to everything and right in the heart of downtown. - Margo Pincombe July 28, 2018

The front desk was kind enough to relocate us to a newly available room with a better view upon our arrival.
- Guest July 30, 2018

Gorgeous view! Nice clean room with comfy bed. Car rental at hotel. Pick up at ferry...FABulous! - Angela July 29, 2018

You made our stay special with the champagne glasses and a bottle of bubbly chilling in the fridge! Thank you SO much! - The Maurers July 24, 2018

The best room of our travel in Alaska! - Guest July 23, 2018

Great room! Great View! - Guest July 21, 2018

We enjoyed our stay very much! - Gina Wilson July 22, 2018

The free shuttle service to and from the boat dock and airport was a huge plus for us. Grateful to you for that service! - Guest July 21, 2018

Enjoyed my stay:) - Guest July 18, 2018

Dana went out of her way to put us in a room with a view. We appreciated breakfast too! Fawn from Whitehorse, Yukon
July 15, 2018

Fantastic view! Easy to walk around town and to attractions. Nice to have breakfast on-site. Guest July 2018

Perfect location...the view is amazing!!! Chris and Robyn Horn July 1, 2018

Very helpful & concern for my pet cat - June 17 ,2018

Love the carpet on the feet. Motel has a nice atmoshpere. - June 8, 2018

A very pleasant surprise - Gary Stelzer , Menahga, MN  June 1, 2018

We returned for a second night - June 06, 2018

Thank you for providing us with such a comfortable stay. The wonderful bed throw was especially appreciated - Bud & Barbara Dyke  June 6, 2018

Terrific hosts. Very Nice Room. Can't wait to come back.  - Bob & Sharon  Margill Teslin, Yukon May 18, 2018

A Good Nights Rest - Patricia McIntosh Ft. Myers Beach, Florida July 23, 2017

Magic View
--  Craig Green Prince George, BC  July 19, 2017

Thanks for the prompt pick-up at the ferry terminal.
-- Guest July 2017

Your staff and hotel made this a very, very nice stay and vacation. The rooms are clean and nice with incredible view of the bay!!!  It was wonderfully quiet & peaceful!!!
-- Captain's Choice Motel Guest - June 2017

Peaceful. This hotel is clean, charming and the staff is friendly. The view from our room amazing. Two bald eagles an ocean harbour and mountains. The town is perfect. Wish I could stay forever. 🙂
-- Tamala Millar (Google Reviewer)

Good for stop and go travel.

While traveling through Haines we wanted to stay in a fairly priced motel that offered a continental breakfast and was close to the ferry terminal. The front desk staff was nice and helpful. The location is great because it is close to the ocean while still being close to stores and restaurants, with the ferry not too far away as well. While the room was quite outdated, we were comfortable and slept fairly well. I was rather surprised that the breakfast was only offered from 6-8am and only consisted of juice, coffee, toast, and muffins. I was honestly rather bummed I woke up earlier than I had hoped, only to find such limited options. All in all, we enjoyed our stay for the one night just passing through the town.

Room Tip: Request a room toward the back of the property so as to see the ocean best and to park off the main...
-- Tripadvisor,  August 29, 2016
 

Great view, very nice people. Lovely town too. I left the lights on in my truck (semi), and the locals drove us around to find someone who could jump it. Can't say enough good things about these people.

-- Ben Love (Google Reviewer)

Rental Cars are great

I was sent to Haines for work and was provided a rental car through the Captain's Choice Motel. They picked me up right after my fight into Haines and had me in my rental car (a very nice and clean late model Subaru Forester) within minutes. Very pleasant interaction and I would highly recommend.
-- Tripadvisor, Reviewed September 7, 2016

The view is oh so fine!

I lead a group of seven classic cars and 15 souls from Fairbanks, Alaska. We have stayed here before and were once again treated very well! The facility has some age but is clean and convenient to restaurants, museums, etc. - all within walking distance. The staff were very helpful and friendly. And there was plenty of off-street parking.
-- Tripadvisor, Reviewed July 24, 2016
Clean and drool worthy views right outside the door

So i didn't have extremely high expectations for lodging knowing that I was going to an extremely remote part of Alaska. Though quite outdated inside, I thought this motel was just fine. Everything was clean, the staff was very friendly and the views right outside the door was droolworthy. It's very close to the water and situated well for walks. They also have a continental breakfast that included items one would expect. I would stay here again if I'm lucky enough to ever get back to Haines.

-- Tripadvisor, Reviewed July 14, 2016
Dated, but great

We had a great few nights at this motel. The rooms were comfortable without being luxurious, and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. A limited breakfast (raisin toast/muffins/croissants) was served in the lounge/bar each morning and there was always tea and coffee available. Lovely views across the water to the mountains. A convenient guest laundry on the property was a bonus too. The only downside was the number of stairs one had to negotiate on the property, and the steep hills to get around town.

-- Tripadvisor,  September 9, 2016
Clean, friendly, price, view

I love this hotel, staff friendly, the view is beautiful. price is decent. rooms are clean, lots of hot water. I stay here when in Haines for business and for pleasure. lots to do around town. I've been staying here for at least 12 years.

-- Tripadvisor,  September 16, 2016